Book launch | ‘Between Market Economy and State Capitalism: China's State-Owned Enterprises and the World Trading System'

UNSW Law & Justice and the CIBEL Centre invite you to the launch of Between Market Economy and State Capitalism: China's State-Owned Enterprises and the World Trading System by Weihuan Zhou and Henry Gao.

Join the book's authors as well as a panel of guest speakers to learn more about this important publication.


About the Book: 

This book is the first systemic and thorough analysis of how to regulate state-owned enterprises (SOEs) under the world trading system with a focus on Chinese SOEs. It argues that existing WTO rules, especially those on subsidies, coupled with China-specific rules in its accession protocol, do provide feasible tools to counter China's state capitalism. This book also discusses the reasons for the lack of usage of these rules and provides concrete policy suggestions on how the rules may be better utilized, as well as how to conduct constructive negotiations on new rules in the WTO and beyond.


Guest Speakers: 

  • Mr James Baxter, Office of Global Trade Negotiations, Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade, Australia
  • Professor Vivienne Bath, The University of Sydney Law School
  • Professor James Laurenceson, Director of the Australia-China Relations Institute (ACRI), University of Technology Sydney
  • Chaired by Professor Deborah Healey, Co-Director of CIBEL Centre, Faculty of Law & Justice, UNSW.


About the Authors: 

Associate Professor Weihuan Zhou Book Launch

Weihuan Zhou is Associate Professor and Director of Research at the Faculty of Law and Justice, UNSW Sydney and Co-Director of the Faculty's CIBEL Centre. He is the author of China's Implementation of the Rulings of the World Trade Organization (2019), co-Secretary of the Society of International Economic Law (SIEL) and editorial board member of the World Trade Review. 










Professor Henry Gao

Henry Gao is a Senior Fellow at the Centre for International Governance Innovation and Professor of Law at Singapore Management University. He sits on the Advisory Board of the WTO Chairs Program and the editorial boards of the Journal of International Economic Law and Journal of Financial Regulation.